The winners of the 2017 Hyndburn Community Sports Awards were celebrated last week at a special presentation event at Accrington Town Hall. The Awards recognise achievement in grassroots sports. Eight deserving winners were presented with their awards by the Worshipful, the Mayor of Hyndburn, Councillor Peter Britcliffe. He said, “I was delighted to be invited to present this year’s sports awards on behalf of Hyndburn Leisure. There were some fantastic athletes, teams, coaches and volunteers in attendance who are a credit to our Borough.”

This year’s winners were as follows:

Susan Ainscough – Lifetime Achievement Award

Lesley Smith – Inspire Award

Primary School of the Year Award – St Marys RC Primary School, Clayton-le-Moors

Contribution to Women’s Sport – Simon Atkin

Community Club of the Year – Ossy Joggers

Young Achiever of the Year – Jessica Simpson

Community Project of the Year-Body Fit, Lancashire Women’s Centre

Coach of the Year – Victoria Austin

Councillor Ken Moss, Portfolio Holder for Leisure said, “The awards ceremony really highlighted the depth in sporting talent we have right here on our doorstep. We wish the winners all the best as they go on to represent Hyndburn in the Lancashire Sports Awards in November.”